War On Drugs - Deeper Understanding

Despite keeping to their pattern of releasing records on a triennial basis, 'A Deeper Understanding' shows that The War On Drugs have neither been slacking nor lost momentum in the long wait. Following 2014's stunning and ardently introspective 'Lost In The Dream', the new album sees Adam Granduciel and co. continue to explore themes of loneliness within the framework of their cinematic Americana sound. Highlights such as the euphoric catharsis of 'Holding On' and the pensive 'Strangest Thing' are evidence of a beautifully accomplished album by a group who appear to be gaining a deeper understanding not only of the experience of pain, but of who they are as a band.

Gatefold 2LP with Insert

Side 1
1. "Up All Night" (6:23)
2. "Pain" (5:28)
3. "Holding On" (5:44)
Side 2
1. "Stranges Thing" (6:38)
2. "Knocked Down" (3:56)
3. "Nothing To Find" (6:07)
Side 3
1. "Thinking Of A Place" (11:11)
2. "In Chains" (7:17)
Side 4
1. "Clean Living" (6:15)
2. "You Don't Have To Go" (6:40)


Titles You Viewed