PJ Harvey - Dry

Product Code M-602508755804

AvailabilityIn stock

Unit price
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

 The world was very different in 1992, but some of the greatest musical moments from that year stand the test of time. Just take Polly Jean Harvey's staggering debut - the making of a musical icon and one of the era's finest examples of songwriting. It still sounds exceptional and its messages still resonate, lifting the woke-washed veil of our age in one fell swoop, laying bare the fact that many toxic attitudes prevail. It's rock music, but that's hardly the point. What matters isn't so much what's being played, but how and what's being said. Delivered with an air of Pixies and nod to Patti Smith, written in the wake of a relationship imploding, our introduction to Harvey remains vital as ever. A refusal to accept simplistic, patriarchal views of womanhood and femininity, or indeed simplistic patriarchal views of anything, the record's razor sharp observations, cunning wit and deft ability to reference but feel original is remarkable.

Side 1
1. "Oh My Lover" (3:59)
2. "O Stella" (2:37)
3. "Dress" (3:16)
4. "Victory" (3:16)
5. "Happy & Bleeding" (4:46)
Side 2
1. "Sheela-Na-Gig" (3:14)
2. "Hair" (3:46)
3. "Joe" (2:33)
4. "Plants & Rags" (4:08)
5. "Fountain" (3:51)
6. "Water" (4:38)

Titles You Viewed