Kamaal Williams - The Return
Review: 5 - "A masterpiece of literature" by , written on May 4, 20020

Kamaal Williams - The Return

Available:Out of Stock

    Kamaal Williams has described The Return, his debut solo album, as "a natural evolution from the Yussef Kamaal project". Yet while that was made in collaboration with drummer Yussef Kamaal and played around with jazz in its myriad forms, The Return sees the man sometimes known as Henry Wu stamp his own mark on proceedings. So while "visionary jazz" (as the press release puts it) is his aim, this manifests itself in a range of ways. Contrast, for example, the leisurely jazz-funk flex and stoned feel of opener "Salaam" with the more groove-driven, dancefloor vibes of "High Roller", where sinewy strings tumble down over hip-hop influenced live house beats, meandering Herbie Hancock style synths and a superb bassline.

    180g Vinyl LP

    Side 1
    1. "Salaam" (8:32)
    2. "Broken Theme" (4:27)
    3. "The Return" (1:07)
    4. "High Roller" (2:52)
    5. "Situations" (live In Milan) (2:57)
    Side 2
    1. "Catch The Loop" (6:44)
    2. "Rhythm Commission" (2:28)
    3. "Medina" (6:52)
    4. "LDN Shuffle" (5:25)
    5. "Aisha" (2:19)