Hiroshi Yoshimura - Music for Nine Post Cards
Review: 5 - "A masterpiece of literature" by , written on May 4, 20020

Hiroshi Yoshimura - Music for Nine Post Cards

Available:Out of Stock

    Horishi Yoshimura was something of a pioneer of Japanese electronic music, particularly ambient. He came to create his first masterpiece, 1982 debut album Music For Nine Postcards, following a near 10-year spell exploring the early potential of computer music. The album has long been considered a "must-have" for ambient collectors, despite high second-hand prices and very limited stock. Thrillingly, Empire of Signs has decided to reissue it on vinyl for the first time. Entirely performed and produced by Yoshimura, it features a series of impeccable compositions rich in slowly unfurling electric piano motifs, spacey synthesizer chords, delicate organ lines and, on rare occasions, the musician's own voice routed through all manner of outboard effects. Simply stunning.

    Side 1
    1. "Water Copy" (6:08)
    2. "Clouds" (5:56)
    3. "Blink" (4:42)
    4. "Dance PM" (5:08)
    Side 2
    1. "Ice Copy" (2:57)
    2. "Soto Wa Ame (Rain Out Of Window)" (4:35)
    3. "View From My Window" (6:13)
    4. "Urban Show" (4:45)
    5. "Dream" (5:23)