Doves - The Universal Want

It's easy to forget this is the first new record we've had from Doves in more than a decade, given the rousing call to action and emotional intensity of aptly-titled album opener 'Carousel'. A huge, nostalgic fairground thumper that sets the adrenaline levels at 11, it could be their most confident album opener to date.

And The Universal Want is far from a tease, too, capturing the essence of what we hoped from this Manchester trio's comeback fanfare. From the science fiction synth beams of Bowie ode 'Cathedrals Of The Mind', to the redemptive and hope-filled stadium indie of 'For Tomorrow', and the title track's melancholic proto-house stomp, it's very much a record of our time but also one that will likely stand the test of time. A very welcome return for, and another schooling from, Jez Williams and his team.

Side 1
1. "Carousels" (4:50)
2. "I Will Not Hide" (4:14)
3. "Broken Eyes" (4:14)
4. "For Tomorrow" (5:28)
5. "Cathedrals Of The Mind" (5:24)
Side 2
1. "Prisoners" (4:28)
2. "Cycle Of Hurt" (4:16)
3. "Mother Silverlake" (5:12)
4. "Universal Want" (5:16)
5. "Forest House" (3:38)

Titles You Viewed