Joy Division - Closer (40th Anniversary Ed.)

Product Code M-190295269456

AvailabilityOut of stock

Cutting to the chase in an attempt to avoid something cliched like 'what an honour it is to write something on a Joy Division album', it's astounding that 'Closer' has now passed the 40 year mark. Perhaps not as immediate and certainly less familiar to many compared with their 'Unknown Pleasures' debut, in many ways this serves the record well. It's an altogether more experimental beast in terms of song structures and ideas, and as such doesn't feel definitive of a moment but instead timeless. That said, this is still very much a case of perhaps the greatest post punk band of all time delivering a masterpiece difficult second LP, with audible hallmarks of act and era. From opener, 'Atrocity Exhibition', through the whispered and suppressed 'Heart & Soul' and onto the beguiling 'Decades', 'Closer' makes it painfully clear that had circumstances been less tragic Joy Division would likely have continued to deliver for many more years than fate allowed.

180g Clear Vinyl LP

Side 1
1. "Atrocity Exhibition" (6:06)
2. "Isolation" (2:46)
3. "Passover" (4:51)
4. "Colony" (3:53)
5. "A Means To An End" (4:07)
Side 2
1. "Heart & Soul" (5:45)
2. "Twenty Four Hours" (4:27)
3. "The Eternal" (6:04)
4. "Decades" (6:10)

Titles You Viewed