Aurora - A Different Kind Of Human: Step 2
Review: 5 - "A masterpiece of literature" by , written on May 4, 20020

Aurora - A Different Kind Of Human: Step 2

Available:Out of Stock

    You may already know 22-year old Norwegian pop singer Aurora Aksnes for her rendition of Oasis' "Half the World Away" for a John Lewis Christmas advert in 2015, but if not, she's the biggest thing since Robyn. This latest record, following A Different Kind Of Human (Step 1) from last year, presents a third album to date and one that forms the second part of last year's surprise release. Fast-paced, hopeful, dancey and nordically folkal music, (Step 2) sees Aurora deliver something more experimental than before with its themes said to focus on ecological crisis and societal concepts of individualism. Syncopated basslines, staccato vocals and criss-crossing rhythms hit all the right spots in "Apple Tree" while our other pick "In Bottles" combines '90s pop sensationalism with breakbeats made to fit house tempos.

    Heavyweight Blue Vinyl LP + Insert

    Side 1
    1. "The River" (3:37)
    2. "Animal" (3:35)
    3. "Dance On The Moon" (3:37)
    4. "Daydreamer" (3:39)
    5. "Hunger" (2:47)
    6. "Soulless Creatures" (5:00)
    Side 2
    1. "In Bottles" (4:01)
    2. "A Different Kind Of Human" (3:53)
    3. "Apple Tree" (3:11)
    4. "The Seed" (4:24)
    5. "Mothership" (2:17)