Cigarettes After Sex - Cigarettes After Sex
Review: 5 - "A masterpiece of literature" by , written on May 4, 20020

Cigarettes After Sex - Cigarettes After Sex

Available:Out of Stock

    The last ten years have seen no shortage of bands with their delay pedals set to stun intent on capturing an aura of dreamlike radiance. Yet Texas 'pop-noir' troupe Cigarettes After Sex are no ordinary shoegazers, for a variety of reasons - frontman Greg Gonzalez' androgynous and dulcet tones may be part of the appeal, yet moreover it's the quality of the songwriting here, which never falls prey to the style-over-substance traps of their peers. Indeed, this debut is more than enough to justify the considerable hype around this outfit, being a collection of ditties as sultry as they are atmopsheric.

    Side 1
    1. "K" (5:18)
    2. "Each Time You Fall In Love" (4:50)
    3. "Sunsetz" (3:33)
    4. "Apocalypse" (4:48)
    5. "Flash" (4:32)
    Side 2
    1. "Sweet" (4:49)
    2. "Opera House" (6:02)
    3. "Truly" (4:01)
    4. "John Wayne" (4:16)
    5. "Young & Dumb" (4:30)