Cigarettes After Sex - Cry
Review: 5 - "A masterpiece of literature" by , written on May 4, 20020

Cigarettes After Sex - Cry

Available:Out of Stock
    With the combination of band name and album title this one's always going to be a bit of a tearjerker, packed with self-reflection and self-loathing. No regrets, though, as Greg Gonzalez muses on sensuality, the loss of those we care about, the loss of self to another and the endless yearning of the human heart. Shades of Lord Huron and a wealth of gloomy shoegazers can be felt, but even though "Cry" represents a next step for Cigarettes After Sex - edging into more minimalistic territories - it's still immediately identifiable as this band, and so won't fail to instantly resonate with avid fans. Packed with an exquisite, opiate balladry at once heartfelt and heartbroken, it's hard to tell whether this is exactly what you need to hear when living through your blue period or precisely what you shouldn't listen to. Either way, it's quiet impact is immense.

    Side 1
    1. "Don't Let Me Go" (4:21)
    2. "Kiss It Off Me" (4:29)
    3. "Heavenly" (4:43)
    4. "You're The Only Good Thing In My Life" (4:34)
    5. "Touch" (4:51)
    Side 2
    1. "Hentai" (4:41)
    2. "Cry" (4:16)
    3. "Falling In Love" (4:02)
    4. "Pure" (4:12)